Sailing / Yacht Club
Commodore Andrew Munro
General Manager Alex McGillivray
The Royal Yacht Club of Victoria was founded in May 1853 as the Port Phillip Yacht Club. Records show that the Club is undoubtedly Australia's senior yacht club and as such is steeped in decades of yachting history and tradition. In 1872, the Club was granted the privilege of flying the Blue Ensign of the Colony of Victoria. Queen Victoria, in 1887, granted to the Club the privileges of a royal club and the Admiralty granted a Full Warrant to fly the Blue Ensign of Her Majesty's Fleet. The Club added the name 'Royal' to its name and since 1887 has been known as the Royal Yacht Club of Victoria. In 1873, the Club moved to its present site at 120 Nelson Place, Williamstown, just across the Westgate Bridge, on the banks of the picturesque Port Phillip. The Royal Yacht Club of Victora has more than 900 members and 300 yachts on its register. The Club has a long and proud history of bay and ocean racing, as well as long distance cruising.
120 Nelson Pl